Green Stylin’

I was walking around campus the other day and I ran into senior Meredith Hansen sporting a shirt that said “I love boys that recycle” and I stopped her because I was interested in where she got the shirt.

“Well, Old Navy was having a sale on graphic t-shirts that were 100% organic and I saw this shirt and I thought it was cute,” Hansen said.

The point is that not only are the shirts organic, but they are presentable. They’re cute and they are promoting a more greener outlook. You may not realize it but you are a walking advertisement to go green. Okay, so maybe the I love boys part may be a little silly but the recycle sign is on the shirt. It is a cute way to tell people that they should be recycling.

Ryan Mazza was sporting a “Think Green” shirt with a tree on it. Granted most people don’t think that they’re going shopping to have green advertisements all over their t-shirts, but people like Mazza put it in thought. Think Green
“I have maybe three shirts that have something about going green or they might be organic. I don’t buy them because they say that. I buy them because they look cool and because they’re really comfortable,”Mazza said.

Students may not recycle all the time or try to attempt to always help the environment, but if they keep shopping and buying organic things it is one step closer to a better environment.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by kennethstukes on October 26, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    Interesting post. Did find out how going green has benefited these people, if any? Are the shirts affordable? What are the shirts made from? Have you found any other stores that have decided to go green? That would be a good idea for a module.

    Reply

  2. Posted by tymacleod on October 26, 2009 at 5:47 pm

    I’ve always been curious as to what makes clothing “organic.” Is it the material or is it the process in which it’s made? Perhaps look into the exact specifications/requirements for what makes clothing organic…I know I would definitely like to know. It may just persuade me to start buying such clothes. Anyway, maybe there are some small-scale local clothing companies who are also jumping on this trend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

