Carrying Green For Less Green

I’ve noticed this trend on campus, where water is the new thirst quencher. I used to see soda and coffee all the time but now it’s water. Not only are students trying to stay healthy but the bottles they are holding are eco-friendly.

Towson University is a big commuter school and Deer Park water company happens to be in Maryland. Not only is it affordable to buy 24-packs but that 24-pack is helping the environment.

Shawna Sogluizzo, a student at Towson is an avid Deer Park drinker.
“I noticed that the bottle changed…maybe last year and on the back of the label it says that it is an Eco-Bottle. Not only is it cheap, I like the taste of Deer Park. It’s refreshing and it doesn’t have that weird after-taste like Nestle Water does,” Sogluizzo said.

Sarah Zuckerman, a student at University of Pennsylvania has a Sigg bottle that she had bought when she was a freshman.

“My mom has always been really eco-friendly and I guess I got that from her. The Sigg bottle is great. I bought a Brita and the bottle which cost me about $50. If I bought packs of water I’d be wasting a lot more. Not only am I helping the environment, I get a cool bottle to carry around,” Zuckerman said.

I am also a Deer Park drinker and I noticed myself that the bottle is light weight. I personally like Deer Park compared to other waters. It’s cheap and it’s from Maryland. I can be proud of carrying my green, recyclable refreshing water around.

Deer Park's Eco-Bottle of water

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by tymacleod on November 9, 2009 at 7:18 pm

    As great as it is that companies like Deer Park are making eco-bottles, it still seems ridiculous to even buy cases of water nowadays. Personally, I just feel that if someone wants to really help the environment, then they’ll do what Sarah Zuckerman is doing. Not only are you saving yourself money, but you’re not creating any potential for waste by re-using the same bottle every day. If possible, you could maybe survey students at Towson to see how many people use re-usable bottles vs. plastic ones, and of those who use plastic, who actually recycles them!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Danielle Koch on November 9, 2009 at 7:24 pm

    Sometimes I feel like environmentalism is looked at as a trend rather than a responsibility. Would these students refuse water that wasn’t in an eco-friendly bottle? Towson Dining Services just conducted a campus wide survey in dining halls, and many of the questions were about going green. I wonder if you could get the results to this survey, or talk to someone in dining services about their green initiative.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

